Wings International

The Royal Federation of Aero Clubs of Australia holds the Australian Light Aircraft Championships each year. The winners of this Championship compete in the WINGS INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION between Australia and New Zealand. This event was commenced in 1992 and is held alternately in Australia and New Zealand.
Each team consists of six pilots and the events are:

  • Formation Flying,
  • Spot Landing,
  • Forced Landing and
  • Aerobatics

Competition Flying is a proven method of improving a pilot’s standards and maintaining currency and is widely promoted throughout Australia by the Royal Federation of Aero Club of Australia on a Club, Interclub and National level, and in New Zealand through the New Zealand Aero Club movement.


Civil Aviation Safety Authority website for info on Recognition of Overseas Licences:


Civil Aviation Authority website, click on Pilots, click on For Australian Pilots:

The last Wings International event was held in 2020 

The Wings International competition was held in February 2020 at Tauranga, New Zealand. A beautiful city approximately two and a half hours drive south west of Auckland.

Our Australian Team were:

  • Andrew Stopp – Forced Landing
  • Ed Ten Broeke – Streamer Cutting & Flour Bombing
  • Jim Di Menna – Formation
  • Michael Stenson – Formation
  • Mick Harcourt – Formation
  • Peter Waite – Spot Landing
  • Lewis Newman – Aerobatics

John Douglas was our Steward and Marj Gillespie the Team Manager.

New Zealand won the Wings International Championship.

The results were:

  • Aerobatics – David Wilkinson NZ
  • Spot Landing – Peter Waite Australia
  • Forced Landing – Ian Begbie NZ
  • Formation – Andrew Butler, Grant Hopewell and Graeme Randle NZ.

Streamer Cutting and Flour Bombing scores at this stage are not being counted in the Wings International, this is likely to change in the future. Both these events were won by New Zealand.

Several of our Team then competed in the NZ National Championships and did well.

Ed Ten Broeke came first in the Streamer Cutting and Peter Waite came third. The Australian formation team came second. Lewis Newman came third in the Aerobatics.

We look forward to inviting the New Zealand team to Australia in 2021.