THE ROYAL FEDERATION OF AERO CLUBS OF AUSTRALIA



ABN 27 008 634 044 (Incorporated in the ACT)

email: info@rfaca.com.au www.rfaca.com.au

OSWALD WATT GOLD MEDAL AWARD

RECIPIENT LIST

1921	F.S BRIGGS, ESQ. Melbourne to Brisbane, Melbourne to Perth
1922	H.T. SHAW, ESQ Melbourne to Sydney, Sydney to Melbourne, 60hp Maurice Farman Sports
1923	NO AWARD
1924	FLIGHT LIEUT. I.E MCINTYRE Seaplane flight around Australia
1925	E.J. JONES ESQ Melbourne to Normanton, Normanton to Melbourne.
1926	FLIGHT LIEUT. I.E. MCINTYRE Flight to the Solomon Islands with Group Captain R. Williams (later Air Marshal Sir Richard Williams, KBE, CB, DSO)
1927	H.J.L HINKLER, ESQ 1200 miles non stop flight England to Latvia in "AVRO" Time occupied – 10 ¾ hours, business trip.
1928	SQUADRON LEADER E.J.L. HINKLER England to Australia
1929	SQUADRON LEADER C. KINGSFORD SMITH Derby (W.A) to England
1930	AIR COMMODORE C. KINGSFORD SMITH England to Australia and Trans-Atlantic Flight.
1931	SQUARDON LEADER H.J.L. HINKLER America to Africa
1932	SQUARDON LEADER H.J.L. HINKLER South Atlantic Flight
1933	AIR COMMODORE SIR CHARLES KINGSFORD SMITH England to Australia (Record Flight)
1934	AIR COMMODORE SIR CHARLES KINGSFORD SMITH Pacific Flight

1935	H.F. BROADBENT, ESQ. England to Australia, Around Australia
1936	CAPTIN EDGAR PERCIVAL England to Morocco and Return in one day. Speed Record in King's Cup Race. Folkstone Speed Trophy.
1937	DR. C.C. FENTON Meritorious work in the Northern Territory during 1937.
1938	CAPTIN D.C. BENNETT Flight across the Atlantic in the "Mercury"
1939-1945	NO AWARD
1946	AIR VICE MARSHAL D.C.I. BENNETT, CB, CBF, DSO For his survey flight of the South American route for B.S.A.A.
1947	SQUADRON LEADER H.B.MARTIN, RAF, DSO & BAR, DFC & BAR For England/ Capetown record on 1 May 1947 in Mosquito.
1948	NO AWARD
1949	NO AWARD
1950	MARTIN WARNER, ESQ, For a British Empire Altitude Record in a Gull TV Glider on December 30, 1950 during which a maximum altitude of 23,500 ft. was attained
1951	CAPTIN P.G. TAYLOR For his flight across the pacific to South America.
1952	THE LATE SQUADRON LEADER P.G. FISHER Who piloted a Canberra Jet Bomber between England and Australia in the record time of 23 hours 5 minutes on 12 May 1952. He also flew from Darwin to Laverton in 3 hours 55 minutes.
1953	WING COMMANDER D.R. CUMING, OBE, AFC For the part played by him in connection with the England to New Zealand Air Race and his valuable contribution to aviation as Chief Test Pilot to the RAAF.
1954	MERVYN M. WAGHORN, ESQ On account of his Gliding flight of 303 miles from Narromine to Wangaratta.
1955	NO AWARD
1956	NO AWARD
1957	D.G. ANDERSON, ESQ. (later Sir Donald Anderson, CBE) Director General of Civil Aviation for the most notable contribution to aviation and, in particular for his performance on behalf of Australia and Qantas in enabling this country to become an all-round-the—world operator

the -world operator.

1958	SQUADRON LEADER D.W. LECKIE, OBE, AFC, In recognition of his work as leader of the RAAF Flight with Australia's Antarctic expedition.
1959	A.E.CHADWICK, ESQ For outstanding work and devotion to duty with the Flying Medical Service of the Bush Church Aid Society.
1960	BRIGADIER GUY N. MOORE, CBE, DFC, ED For a most notable contribution by an Australian to the advancement of civil aviation.
1961	NO AWARD
1962	HENRY K MILLICER, M.SC, AFR, AES For a most notable contribution to aviation by an Australian or in Australia.
1963	NO AWARD
1964	EDWARD J CONNELLAN, OBE For a most notable contribution to aviation by an Australian or in Australia.
1965	NO AWARD
1966	H.H. SCHNEIDER, ESQ. For a most notable contribution to aviation in Australia.
1967	SIR WILMOT HUDSON FYSH, KBE, DFC For a most notable contribution to aviation in Australia.
1968	NO AWARD
1969	G. A .LLOYD JNR, OBE For a most notable contribution to aviation in Australia during his Presidency of The Royal Federation of Aero Clubs of Australia from 1958 to 1970 and in Particular as Chairman of the 1969 BP England to Australia Commemorative Air Race.
1970	NO AWARD
1971	NO AWARD
1972	NO AWARD
1973	SIR NORMAN BREARLEY, CBE, DSO, MC, AFC For a most notable contribution to aviation in Australia.
1974	SIR LAWRENCE JAMES WACKETT, DFC, AFC, SDCCENG, FRAES For a most notable contribution to aviation in Australia.
1975	SIR REGINALD ANSETT, KBE For a most notable contribution to aviation in Australia.

1976 MR CLIVE R CANNING

For the most brilliant performance in flying his own amateur constructed aircraft from Melbourne to London and return in the course of which he established a number of FAI World Class Records.

1977 CAPTIN H.C. (HORRIE) MILLER

For a most notable contribution to the development of aviation in Australia.

1978 NO AWARD

1979 W.T.J. MOYES

For a most notable contribution to the development of Hang Gliding in Australia and throughout the world.

1980 NO AWARD

1981 NO AWARD

1982 NO AWARD

1983 MR R.H. (DICK) SMITH

For a most notable contribution to the development of aviation in Australia and throughout the world in his successful Around the World flight in a helicopter.

1984 NO AWARD

1985 NO AWARD

1986 NO AWARD

1987 NO AWARD

1988 MR IAN ATHOLD HONNERY

For the outstanding contribution he made to the development of aviation in Australia, particularly in his dedicated organisation of the 1988 Bicentennial Air Show.

1989-1991 NO AWARD

1992 MR CHRIS DEWHIRST

For the most notable contribution to aviation in 1991 by successfully piloting a hot air balloon over Mt Everest. The was the first balloon flight of any kind over Mt Everest.

1993 CAPTAIN SCOTTY ALLAN, CBE, AFC.

For a most notable contribution to aviation in Australia.

1994 NO AWARD

1995 JON JOHANSON

For the most brilliant performance in the air by an Australian in 1995.

1996 SHIRLEY ADKINS OAM

For a most noteworthy contribution to aviation in Australia.

1997 BERNARD J SARROFF OAM

For the most notable contribution to aviation in Australia by organizing flying

safaris overseas and in Australia

1998 ANDREW SW THOMAS PhD NASA ASTRONAUT –

For a most notable contribution to Aviation by an Australian

1999 DR PAUL SCULLY-POWER DSM, DSc, FAICD

For a most notable contribution to Aviation by an Australian

2000-2010 NO AWARD

2011 SQUADRON LEADER PAUL JAMES SIMMONS

For a most notable contribution to Aviation by an Australian for his unique combination of professional mastery as an operational fighter pilot, dedication to the mentoring and instruction of junior aircrew, commitment to the preservation of aviation heritage as the Australian CA-27 Sabre pilot and establishment of the LIFT youth charity.

2012 JOHN WALLACE DICKENSON

For a most notable contribution to Aviation by an Australian for his invention of the modern Hang Glider and making improvements in flight safety.

2013 MARJ (DAVIS) GILLESPIE OAM

For a most notable contribution to Aviation by an Australian for her voluntary contribution of sixteen years to the Royal Federation of Aero Clubs of Australia, the Flying Training Industry and General Aviation.

2014 AIR CHIEF MARSHAL SIR ANGUS HOUSTON AK AFC (Ret'd)

For leadership with the Joint Agency Coordination Centre coordinating the Australian Government's support for the search into missing Malaysia Airlines Flight MH370 and his role as Special Envoy to Ukraine to lead Australia's efforts on the ground in Ukraine to help recover, identify and Repatriate Australians killed in the MH17 crash and to assist relatives of Australian victims, and ensure that a proper investigation of the crash was Initiated in accordance with international standards.

2015 NO AWARD

2016 G A (PETER) LLOYD AC OBE MID

For continued and valuable service to the Aviation Industry and in particular, the safety of aviation.

2017-2020 NO AWARD